Stiff Penalties for Drunk Driving in IN
January 6, 2020
One of the most amazing things about America is that there really is a state for everyone. Drive 50 miles in any direction and you may encounter a different landscape and culture of people. You may also encounter a different set of laws. Ideally, no one is driving drunk on the roads. However, if there is a list of states people should think twice about driving drunk in, Indiana would be among them.
Forbes points out that drunk driving in Indiana could lead to fines of up to $5,000 for first-time offenders. Individuals may even get their license suspended for two years. They also run the risk of spending a full 60 days behind bars. People who are habitual offenders may face even stiffer penalties and fines. If anyone became injured or ended up dying because of the person’s drunk driving, then it could get much worse.
Indiana details the process of what happens during an arrest for operating a vehicle while intoxicated on the state website. The state adds that the person and their vehicle may get searched. The car might also get towed and the driver pays for that. People may have the right to refuse a certified breath test, but that might lead to an automatic license suspension. Ironically, people who show an alcohol level above 0.08% may have their license suspended for only 30 days.
The state also details fines, which are sure to break the bank. By the second offense, drivers might see fines spiking to $10,000. Potential jail time also increases to three years. If this is not bad enough, by the third offense, drivers could face a license suspension for a decade. Jail time might also get extended to eight years.
These are just some of the reasons Indiana is one of the worst states to get convicted of a DUI. Because of this, proactive drivers start to prepare their cases from as early as possible.